Road Trip Letters #1

Road Trip Letter #1

To Father:

I am heading to Denver today Padre. Although the flight is delayed, I am excited for this adventure. I am ready for a well-needed respite for this weary soul of mine. I’m tired of stressing myself out and second-guessing myself. I need some silence and stillness. And I need to step away from the stress that I have continually placed upon myself.

For some reason Father, I have heaped frustration upon frustration into the depths of my soul. I have both willingly and unwillingly accepted lies and fears into my life. I have become crippled by the presumed thoughts of others. My life has been dictated by the measuring stick of the people around me instead of what you have prescribed for me.

I have become unhealthy worried about about being successful. I feel as though I am not getting “straight A’s” according to the culture around me. According to the report card of the Western World and Western Church’s standards I am falling short in my endeavors. I hate that!

But F it!

F that!

On this trip Father I want you to re-center my heart to your truth. Realign my heart to your heart. Capture my gaze and attention. I narrow my audience to You and to the people that you have placed right in front of me.

I ask that Bobby and I will have a great time with You and with each other on this trip. Get us to New Jersey safely. Let us have incredible fun in between the final destination. Help me to get work done for Barnabas.

Speak to us in any way you want. Lead us to divine appointments. I want to become alive again to You and to the people have placed in my life.

Revive me,

Friar

4 thoughts on “Road Trip Letters #1

  1. It is easy to get distracted by and caught up in the expectaions of others. Society’s desires and demands change often without reason, God’s never do. To disconnect from fickle society and reconnect with God may be exactly what you need right now. I’ve been there too. I wish you well on your journey.

Please Leave a Reply

