Video

Uganda: Day 1

Uganda: Day 1 

Hey Friends,

I am so glad you are joining me on this journey of reflection. Webale Nyo! (“Thanks so much” in Luganda). Welcome to Day 1!

New Years 2014!

As you can tell from the video, we arrived on New Years Eve and jumped into the heart of New Year’s Celebration in Uganda. It’s crazy to think that I spent New Year’s Eve in two different countries and continents, shifting from the Netherlands in the morning to Uganda at Night.  And it was even more baffling to think that my first two few weeks of 2014 was to be spent in the continent of Africa!

Now let me tell you, New Year’s in Uganda is the real deal.  Everywhere we went there was a party or some sort of celebration! It was crazy to see how packed the streets were. Every corner was flooded with people. The atmosphere of the night and early morning was electric. It was such a sight to behold. One could not help but be excited.

IMG_3203

I am in Uganda… How Surreal is that?

Although excitement and celebration were not short supply all around me, I found myself quiet, reflective, and inward. It wasn’t that I was tuning out the festivities. Rather, I was tuning into something deep within my heart. God had truly answered the desire of my heart. I was finally in Uganda. I  was finally in Africa.

That moment was inexplicably surreal.

Ever since I was little kid I have dreamt of that moment. And there I was, sitting in a vehicle with Americans and Ugandans driving from Entebbe to Kampala. I felt like a little kid. My senses were easily overloaded. The best I could do was sit there- and take it in. Deep within my heart I just kept on saying, ” Thank You God, Thank You God”.

Due to the fact that we came in late and that the roads were inconceivably congested, we had to forego our original plan of going to a New Year’s celebration at a stadium. Many Ugandans gather together, pray, and worship by the thousands in these stadiums. They come in unity from all over the region and from various denominations in hopes of ringing in the New Year with style- Holy Spirit style. Included in the celebration is much dancing and praising!  Although we missed that particular opportunity, we had several opportunities to experience something similar later on.

IMG_3349

Mosquito Net

I don’t know why this bugged me out, pun unintended, but the fact the were sleeping in Malaria nets tripped me out! It was another level of surrealness to me. Many realities were made real to me in that simple moment. I am was going to bed in Kampla, Uganda that night.

Question of the day:

What has been one of your surreal moments in your life? Either with travel or with life in general?

Here are some random Pics from Day One:

IMG_3315 IMG_3316 IMG_3317 IMG_3321 IMG_3330 IMG_3333 IMG_3339 IMG_3340 IMG_3342 IMG_3348

That’s all for now. Join me for the next post. Enjoy your weekend friends!

Friar Francis

Please Leave a Reply

