Make My Nakedness Holy Again

A soul made naked am I

Exposed for all to see

That which delights the eye

And that which makes one flee

 

Currently:

There is a wind that blows upon me

It is frigid, cruel, and icy

Oh, what would I give for a blanket

That warms and consoles me nicely

 

Instead of the dregs of death

That breathe warmly and heavily upon my neck

Massaging me with countless lies

Creeping and crawling like an insect

 

Instead I ask

Instead I plea

Cover me God

And  then uncover me

 

Cover me with oil

Wash me clean

Cleanse me until I am new

Make me a child that is seen

 

Take a way every stain

Remove the residue

Take away the leaves

That I hold onto

 

Make my nakedness holy again

The way you created me at first

Make my heart sing again

Give my bareness a new verse

 

Friar Francis

Please Leave a Reply

