Praying Through James

Part 2: James 1:1-5

1James, a servant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ,

To the twelve tribes in the Dispersion:

Greetings.

2 Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, 3 for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. 4 And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.

 

My Prayer

You said if I lack wisdom that I should ask You.

Oh, Generous One,

Provide to me wisdom beyond my natural understanding.

Help me to complete today’s tasks.

 

Gift me with wisdom,

Wisdom to create:

 

Gift me with wisdom to create wealth.

Gift me with wisdom to create authentic community.

Gift me with wisdom to live in pure in motives.

Gift me with wisdom to love well.

 

Give the wisdom to be freed from my cyclic modalities of oppression.

Give me your righteousness today.

 

I exchange my sin for your gifts:

Take my pride.

Take my obsession with sexual intimacy.

Take my obsession with marriage.

Take my obsession with success.

 

Take my Fear:

I especially fear that Your promises will take too long.

I know they will come;

But how long does it take for them to come into fruition?

 

Take my fear of man- their faces, their lives.

For I am overcome with jealously,

I want what they have,

I want what they want.

I do not know how to get it.

I am utterly indulgent.

And I fall prey to being incredibly dissatisfied.

 

I am man lost in the first Garden

I have a terrible craving for the forbidden fruit.

 

Give me the wisdom to choose that which You would choose.

 

You are generous.

Pour into my spirit from Your Spirit.

I gladly receive all that You find befitting and beneficial to me in this day.

3 thoughts on “Praying Through James

Please Leave a Reply

